Why in the future I’m just going to lie

So, I got the job 🙂  The interview was suprisingly easy, I don’t think they expected me to actually know anything about anything. I was meant to be starting on 7th April with an Induction Week. This means I finish here on the 19th March, fly to Pakistan on the 20th March, land back again on the 5th April and start work on the 7th. Obviously there’s a holiday somewhere in the middle of that but somehow I don’t think it will be the most relaxing of trips.

Anyway, I got the job subject to my references and occupational health clearing me. References should be fine. I’d already filled in a long form for Occupational Health and been fairly honest.

Medication   Yes – Citalopram and Tegretol

Depression   Yes – drugs help control it

Self harm      Yes but not for a while 

 All true, all me. So the nurse phoned me yesterday morning to ask about my depression. I told her it was under control and that everything else was as on the form (I don’t know why it would have changed in 2 days but I suppose they have to check). Everything was fine, apparently I’d need a blood test and maybe some vaccinations but who cares.

Yay job! Or so I thought… Four hours later I get another call, same nurse. “Actually I lied, you’re clearly insane and therefore need to see one of our drs to make sure you don’t kill anyone. By the way, all our drs are ridiculously busy so we don’t know when we can give you an appointment. Don’t quit your job just yet.” Ok, I’m paraphrasing but this has me pissed off. I don’t want to have to see a dr, I don’t want to go through the details of my life and why I think I can do the job. It’s not even that really, it’s that the first time she called I was fine, and then suddenly I’m not. Way to make me feel good.

Now, I’d be prepared to accept she was just an idiot if this was the first time it had happened, but it’s not.  The exact same happened with occupational health at BP only they took 2 days to change their mind. Now call me paranoid, but that’s a 100% cock up rate.

I don’t mind having to see a doctor. I do mind being told I’m fine and then that I’m not. What’s changed? It makes me feel unstable and picked on.  It’s made me feel worse than I have in a while. So, this is why in the future I’m going to be fine on all forms.

2 Responses to Why in the future I’m just going to lie

  1. Agnes Weaver says:

    Sorry to hear about your experiences. However, as an Occupational Health Nurse who has to clear new employees, I sometimes have applicants get very upset when they have to get cleared. Companies can be held liable if they hire an applicant and that applicant is injured, hurts someone else or has a “meltdown” and they did not assure that person was able to fulfill their duties. I will say that companies must apply the same standards to ALL applicants though so if you truly feel you were being “targeted” unfairly, you do have options. Companies cannot discreminate but can have policies that do require clearances. I do not suggest that you lie on any pre-employment post-offer screening. That is falsifying a legal document which could come back to haunt you. Good luck in the future. A. Weaver Occupational Health Nurse

  2. History Of Depression

    Depression is attributed to a lack of neurotransmitters in the brain. Neurotransmitters are chemical agents that cause humans to feel certain emotions. When there is a lack of serotonin and norepinephirne within the brain, it can be difficult for the a…

Leave a Reply

