Why fight?

I recently lost my job. I’m not going to say why and I’m not going to say how but it happened. I feel that the actions leading up to this were unfair and tantamount to discrimination. I have sent a number of letters back and forth, quoting and reading policies and laws (which are very hard work, believe me!) and the more I do so, the more I believe that the employer breached a number of both their internal policies and national laws.

Now my employer is big, think huge and has vast legal resources and money at its disposal. I do not. I have no job, pretty much no money and no entitlement to benefits (but that’s another story). I do not qualify for legal aid as I got paid last month which took me over the threshold.

Should I continue to fight? My dad says why bother? They’re huge, you’ll never win, you don’t have the time or the resources to get anywhere near building a case. And it’s true, I don’t, I don’t know the first thing about the correct course of action and what to do to not prejudice any case I may have. Hell, I can barerly get out of bed in the morning, what hope do I possibly have?

But if nobody fights, how will things ever change? How will I ever be accepted for what I am, not what I have? I don’t have the strength right now for this fight and probably never will but without it I have nothing. If I cannot change the way people think and view mental illness, I have no future whatever happens.

But if I do fight and lose? What then? I’m back down to zero, below zero, the hell hole I currently inhabit where every action takes more energy and life is like swimming through treacle. I don’t know what to do. I’m lost.

One Response to Why fight?

  1. Lola Snow says:

    I hate to sound like a tabloid reader, but can you go to the papers? Or threaten to? or can you ask the citizens advice bureau? Sorry to hear the news though, I hate injustice. Life’s hard enough.

    Lola x

Leave a Reply

