The dreaded form

This post ain’t going to hang around long so I would appreciate any comments ASAP. These are the questions and my first draft of answers for the nursing occy health questionnaire.

4.15. Do you regularly consult with your GP? If so, with what problems?

Borderline Personality Disorder

4.16. List any medication you are taking

Venlafaxine XR 150mg daily

5.12 Mental helath problems

I have suffered with episodes of depression for a number of years and first sought help in 2005. I was diagnosed with mild Borderline Personality Disorder

in January of this year.

5.13. Episodes of self harm including drug overdoses/attempted suicides

I have previously self harmed, however I have not done so for over 18 months. In January this year I took a drug overdose which resulted in me being hospitalised for three days. At this point I was going through a lot of difficulties
in my personal life and was suffering from a lack of support. It was after this that I was diagnosed with mild BPD. However, since then things have improved hugely. I have been able to reestablish a lot of friendships and set up a network of people who are able to support me. The diagnosis has enabled me to accept and start to come to terms with some of the problems I have had previously and to work through some of my difficulties. I am now more aware of my triggers and know to seek help before getting near a crisis.

5.15 Consultations with a psych, CPN, counsellor etc.

I am currently waiting for approval and funding to begin a course of Dialectical Behavioural Therapy which I hope to have completed before the course commences.

Any comments would be very welcome. Feel free to tear apart what I’ve written, I’ve found it incredibly difficult to do. I don’t want to underplay things as I have been quite unwell and I don’t want to seem evasive but conversely I don’t want to come across as needing locking up! Thanks everyone 🙂

7 Responses to The dreaded form

  1. cbtish says:

    In 4.15 you could put the actual reasons you go to your GP, instead of the diagnosis. You could say how often you see your GP on average.

    In 5.13 you could say what the difficulties were. (I think “a lot of difficulties” sounds evasive.) You could perhaps be more specific than “lack of support”, and leave support out of the next sentence.

    In 5.15 you could name the person who diagnosed BPD and mention other specific people who have treated you.

  2. aims says:

    I might be able to help more if I understood what this form was needed for as your country is so much different than mine.

  3. Chapati says:

    Yeah, I was going to say be more specific about the difficulties, because that can be subjective. Can be brief, depends how much space you have. Again, like Aims I haven’t paid enough attention to understand what this form is for; if it’s going to be followed up by an interview it would be fine as it is!

  4. anickdaler says:

    Thanks so far everyone.

    The purpose of the form is so that occupational health can determine if letting me lose on the general public as a student nurse would cause me to be a danger to myself or anyone else. There isn’t necessarily an interview after – if the form is fine, they’re wouldn’t be however with my history it’s likely I’ll be asked to attend an in person assessment with either a dr or nurse.

    I like the idea of saying why I visit my GP. Something along the lines of:
    “regular reviews and updates about my BPD in order to ensure that it is properly controlled”

    I see what people mean about “a lot of difficulties” being evasive. The problem is a lot of the issues stem from my occy health clearance being withdrawn at the hospital and I want to avoid mentioning that if at all possible as it really wouldn’t help. Hmm, maybe saying “relationship difficulties coupled with unemployment”. I dunno. Will have to think further on that one.

  5. I agree with changing 4.15 to what you have suggested – maybe say how often, depends how you feel about that.

    Whilst “a lot of difficulties” sounds evasive, try not to go into too much detail – if they’re interested they can ask – that after all is the point of the interview. Mentioning employment as a stressor is fine, but I’d reword “relationship difficulties” as that could mean anything and as I general rule I always assume they’ll interpret in the worst light (OK I’m a pessimist, but it’s best to think through how somebody else can interpret your answers).

    Take care,
    Differently

  6. Oak table says:

    I agree with differently, I think vaguer is better and if they want details they will ask. In response to the very first question I would not go straight in with bpd, instead start with mental health conditions. Then mention the bpd later in the form. If you lead the reader gently through the information, gradually creating a more in depth picture of yourself, they are more likely to respond to it in a positive way, ( it is the same “cone” shape that is used in planning interviews). Also I would replace the phrase “ensure it is controlled” ( you are not an escaped dangerous animal!) with” effectively managed” (and then maybe) to ensure that I able to live a normal life, work to the absolute best of my ability, have a truely positive impact upon the lives of my future patients and collegues, as well as enjoy my free time.
    I know this is a pretty challenging suggestion but try to use positive language even where you are describing difficult times.
    Don’t put” a lot of difficulties” just put “difficulties” both are subjective but one is more positive than the other. U are not providing any more information that they might find useful or interesting by adding “a lot”, you are not helping occy health at all by adding that, but you might just be scaring them away.

  7. Oak table says:

    And also if you were diagnosed with “mild bpd” for gods sake make sure you put MILD before every single bpd, it makes a huge difference to how the form reads and it is more accurate!
    Otherwise though I think you have made a good job of it, and the how you have improved since the diagnosis answer is excellent.
    As much as you want the occy health people to take an absolutely objective approach to Reading the form, they just won’t and on some level can’t . They are Reading the story of a girl they have never met before, if it is a positive story, with a happy ending, and with you as the plucky heroine with a heart of gold, they will be more likely to help you as much as possible.

Leave a Reply

