This made me angry.

To be completely honest, lots of things make me angry – I’m a volatile moody person at the best of times but this is an extreme example. Yesterday I received a letter from Clinical Psychology in York, you know the ones who’ve been promising me CBT and who I’ve been on a waiting list with for over a year now.
The edited highlights:

Dear Anickdaler,

As you know, you are on the waiting list to see a Clinical Psychologist following referral by your GP. As you have been waiting some time, we would be very grateful if you could confirm on the slip enclosed if you would still like to be seen.

Once we have received your reply slip, we will send you an appointment when one becomes available. If we do not hear from you within the next three weeks, we will assume that you no longer wish to be seen and will discharge you.

Thank you very much for your help.

Yours sincerely,

Waiting List Administrator

Psychology Services

My translation:

Dear nutter,

As you know we’ve fucked up and have kept you waiting for over a year with zero communication. Can you please let us know if you have

a) recovered or

b) topped yourself

in the intervening time so that we can remove you from our waiting list and make our statistics look somewhat better. It’s not like we have an appointment available anyway but you know how it is with statistics, got to look good.

Ta muchly,

Pointless NHS administrator #13,465

One wonders if they’d still have sent the letter if I had topped myself and if so, how that would have looked…

 

4 Responses to This made me angry.

  1. nickopotamus says:

    Hahaha 😀 Brilliant translation of NHS speak into real world speak…

  2. My boyfriend has one of these regarding a physical complaint – he was on the waiting list for joint surgery (he didn’t respond so will probably never get the surgery now). I think it is fairly standard practice within the NHS – I suspect that most waiting lists are deliberately long in the hopes that people will recover/die in the interim (esp. with things that are more common to the elderly e.g. hip replacements) since it saves them a lot of money.

    Hopefully a sign you are near the top of the list?

    And yes they probably would still have sent the letter.

    What annoys me is that they place the onus of the patient. Probably hoping that a high percentage of people won’t respond in time – let’s face it mental health issues and timely responses aren’t always the most compatible of ideas and all it takes is a low enough mood and associated apathy. I know I frequently miss deadlines because filling the form in, buying a stamp, and getting to the post office is just too much.

    Take care,
    Differently

  3. Lola Snow says:

    That’s awful. They haven’t even acknowledged the fact that their waiting might have caused you upset. It’s a bloody cheek, as Differently says it puts the onus on the patient, and that’s just not cool with something like Mental Health Care. Yes responsibility is important, but they should do more than send a flipping slip through the post. What if that gets lost? I bet they don’t follow up with a phone call.

    Lola x

  4. Totally Detached says:

    What Lola and Differently said. Ridiculous.

    I’ve had one of these before after being left for 6 months with no contact. I was so bloody annoyed I didn’t reply so was taken off the list presumably. Certainly no follow up call Lola! I could literally have been dead, esp since the reason I’d asked for counselling was because I was suicidal at the time.

    Makes you feel like nothing doesn’t it.

Leave a Reply

