Fair’s fair

ANA Crafts attended its first ever craft fair this weekend. Suffice to say, I won’t be retiring on the proceeds just yet but I did more than break even which was better than I expected for my first attempt. I also received handfuls of positive comments which made me feel all happy and smiley. I learned so much over the course of the weekend, my stall went from being an obviously amateur effort, to looking like I may have had a vague idea of what I was doing. The bit I found most difficult was actually communicating with people and pushing my wares. I am shy and hate communicating with people in case they judge me and as for making eye contact… On day one I refused to look at anyone and refused to talk even when questioned. By the end of day 3, while I wasn’t exactly effusive, I could at least look at people and tell them about some of the stories and history behind my stuff. A few people even asked for my business card which was flattering and has convinced me I really need to get the website up and running. I’m currently searching and applying for fair numero deux!

As for university, I’ve spent a lot of time and effort considering my options. I am currently going to give it a shot. I even feel a little bit excited about the idea! I don’t know how it will turn out or even if it’s a good idea but I put a lot of effort into the application and moved halfway across the country for the opportunity so I’d better at least try. I’m currently going through the application process for DSA which is something I’ve never felt able to do before. I hope the support it provides will make things slightly easier for me but I do feel guilty for applying like I don’t really deserve it. I know I’m going to have to be careful and just take it slow while monitoring my mood exceptionally carefully. Nothing is worth descending to the state I was in 18 months ago and I’d want to catch things long before that.

I’d describe myself at the moment as cautiously optimistic. I have a craft business that I may make a go of yet and the chance to start learning for a good career. Hopefully things continue to move forward positively from here.

Leave a Reply

